North Atlantic Salmon Conservation Organization | est 1984

West Greenland Commission

West Greenland Commission


The members of the West Greenland Commission (WGC) are Canada, Denmark (in respect of the Faroe Islands and Greenland), the European Union, the United Kingdom and the United States of America.

The functions of the Commission include:

  • providing a forum for consultation and co-operation on the conservation, restoration, enhancement and rational management of salmon stocks;
  • proposing regulatory measures; and
  • making recommendations on scientific research.

The Council has adopted Rules of Procedure for the Commission (found in the Handbook of Basic Texts). WGC papers and reports can be found on the Annual Meeting Pages.

Regulatory Measures

Regulatory measures have been agreed by the West Greenland Commission for most of the years since NASCO’s establishment. These have resulted in greatly reduced allowable catches in the West Greenland fishery, reflecting declining abundance of the contributing salmon stocks.


Office Bearers

L Andreasen (EU) 1984
E J Spencer (EU) 1984-1986
E McCurdy (Canada) 1986-1988
W Carter (Canada) 1988-1992
D Egan (USA) 1992-1995
E Penas (EU) 1995-1996
R Jones (USA) 1996-1998
A H Thomson (EU) 1998-2002
R Schmitten (USA) 2002-2003
P Kurkul (USA) 2003-2006
G Beaupré (Canada) 2006-2010
A Gray (EU) 2010-2012
G Lapointe (USA) 2012-2013
E C E Potter (EU) 2013-2016
C McLean (Canada) 2016-2020
S Gephard (USA) 2020-2024
K Kærgaard (Denmark)1 2024-

1 (in respect of the Faroe Islands and Greenland)

E McCurdy (Canada) 1984-1986
E Lemche (Denmark)1 1986-1987
A Olafsson (Denmark)1 1987-1990
G Radonski (USA) 1990-1992
H Schmiegelow (EU) 1992-1994
E Penas (EU) 1994-1995
R Jones (USA) 1995-1996
A H Thomson (EU) 1996-1998
M Calcutt (Canada) 1998-2002
J Barrow (Canada) 2002-2006
A Gray (EU) 2006-2010
G Lapointe (USA) 2010-2012
E C E Potter (EU) 2012-2013
C McLean (Canada) 2013-2016
K Damon-Randall (USA) 2016-2018
S Gephard (USA) 2018-2020
K Kærgaard (Denmark)1 2020-2024
C Gallagher (EU) 2024-